eaqzmgkwoamfrne 1592388732710
eaqzmgkwoamfrne 1592388732710
Hot News

Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart State of Play Coming This Week, and New Protagonist Gets a Name

Sony has announced a Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart State of Play broadcast for this Thursday, April 29. Insomniac has also revealed the name of the game’s mysterious new female Lombax protagonist – Rivet.The State of Play broadcast will include 15 minutes of new gameplay from the upcoming PS5 exclusive, and begin at 2pm Pacific / 5pm Eastern / 10pm UK (that’s April 30 at 7am AEST). We also got a short new cinematic/gameplay trailer to tide us over until Thursday:That trailer properly introduces us to Rivet, the female Lombax teased in previous clips of the game. Insomniac describes Rivet as “a Lombax resistance fighter from another dimension, where organic life is hunted by the evil Emperor Nefarious.”

It seems we’ll be controlling both Ratchet and Rivet in the new dimension as they aim to take down Nefarious (with Clank seemingly joining Rivet for portions of the game). The trailer also shows off the new Nefarious City location, as well as “alternate-dimension twists” on existing Ratchet & Clank locations Sargasso and Torren IV.

Sony also showed off more of the contents of the digital deluxe edition of Rift Apart, including five cosmetics that can seemingly be applied to Ratchet or Rivet and shown off in the game’s photo mode. The suits are: Android Armor, Rebel Armor, Imperial Armor, Hacker Armor, and Scavenger Armor (images below). If you want to pre-order, we’ve got a Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart pre-order guide for you.

Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart’s digital deluce edition bonuses (Source: Sony).

On top of all that, Insomniac also announced that Mark Mothersbaugh – lead singer of Devo and composer for Thor: Ragnarok, The LEGO Movie, and multiple games (including the Crash Bandicoot and Jak & Daxter series) – has composed the score for Rift Apart.

Sony’s released snippets of three tracks from the game on its Soundcloud page – click through to listen to ‘Rift Apart‘, ‘Ride Through the Omniverse‘, and ‘Ode to Nefarious‘.

Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart will be released on June 11, and marks one of the early truly PS5-exclusive games. If you’re looking for a truly next-gen game to play for that, Returnal arrives this week, and our final preview says it’s “still very much a Housemarque game at its core, and that’s what has me wanting to play and indeed die, again and again.” They should mark the start of a generation which Sony bos Jim Ryan says will see more PlayStation exclusives than ever before.

Joe Skrebels is IGN’s Executive Editor of News. Follow him on Twitter. Have a tip for us? Want to discuss a possible story? Please send an email to newstips@ign.com.

What's your reaction?

Excited
0
Happy
0
In Love
0
Not Sure
0
Silly
0

You may also like

More in:Hot News

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *